Review: Zen and the Art of Vampires by Katie MacAlister (2008)

3073174

My Rating: 3 Stars

Challenges:

  • My Romance Challenge

Review:

I love Molly Harper, so when I saw this rec’d on facebook as being similar, I got the audiobook. I liked the story and writing overall, though the narrator was a bit whiny and grating. I particularly got into the storyline in the last 3rd of the book. The reason I’m giving it 3 stars instead of higher is because after 10 hours and 20 minutes of listening to the audiobook, I didn’t get a resolution. This book ends without an HEA or even an HFN, with the H and h apart. There is a sequel for this couple that continues the story, but I HATE that!

I hate when books have no resolution, forcing you to either give up on the couple or buy the sequel. I was watching the countdown minutes on my audible recording, and as it got under 30 minutes then 20, I’m thinking do NOT do this to me. Do NOT end this book without an HEA. But, yeah, that’s what it did. So ten+ hours invested in this story and I don’t have closure. That’s, like, five movies or more worth of time. I don’t know why editors and authors do this. I have published a number of books with big houses and small from the early 00’s on, and my editors always discouraged breaking a story into multiple books. Because it pisses readers off. Well, here’s one pissed reader!

I sincerely wish there had been a warning that this was not a complete story. I would try this author again, because I really like paranormal humor, but only if I was sure the story was complete within the book.

Book Links:

Goodreads

Amazon

Leave a Reply

