Review: Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead by Tom Stoppard (1966)

18545

My Rating: 4 stars                    Read:  2/1/2017

Challenges:

  • My Lifetime Challenge

Review:

I read this for my lifetime challenge (1966).

I chose this because I haven’t read anything in play format for years and years and I remembered the movie fondly. It’s also relatively short. Unfortunately, I had a difficult time getting into it. It felt like nothing much happened the first half of the page count beyond uber witty dialogue that is sometimes pretentious, repetitive, and rambly. I really had to force myself through the book. The best parts were where the play intersects with Hamlet, but those bits are fragmentary and few and far between. There really is very little plot here or action or forward momentum, it’s more of an existential dialogue. Of course the dialogue is brilliant, but I missed an actual story to the story.

Book Links:

Goodreads

Amazon

Leave a Reply

